Performances in E3-classic

Banner Cycling Statistics

On Friday March 25th the 64th edition of the E3-Prijs/ E3-Classic will take place. The small Tour of Flanders. How did active pros perform in previous editions of E3? More stats in @WielerOrakel de podcast.


How did active pros perform in previous editions? 7 active pros have won E3-Classic before and 7 more achieved a top-3 result.

Previous performances in E3-casssic
Previous performances in E3 -Classic

Some remarkable performances:
– victory in E3 ánd RVV in the same season by Asgreen and Terpstra
– 4 top-10’s in 4 starts by Oliver Naesen
– 6 top-10’s by Sep Vanmarcke and Greg van Avermaet
– 13 starts by Heinrich Haussler, Niki Terpstra and Sebastian Langeveld

Youngest participant – Rigoberto Uran!

Rigoberto Uran was in 2006 the youngest participant ever in E3-Prijs. Uran was 19 years and 58 days when he started, but did not finish the mini Tour of Flanders. For Uran it was his first race at professional level in his career.

After his first race at the coblles in Flanders, Uran never returned to the cobbled classics. It was his first and only start in a cobbled classic. The earliest spring-classic of the seasons he participated in the years thereafter were Amstel Gold Race and La Fleche Wallone.

43% DNF (2016-2021)

In the past editions 43% of the starters in E3 classics did not finish or finished out of time limit. Only in Il Lombardia and Strade Bianche a larger share did not finish in since 2016.

The mini Tour of Flanders

The E3-Prijs is called the ‘mini Tour of Flanders’. Both races have similarities and that is also true from a statistical perspective.

In the past 24 editions, 9 times the winner of E3 was also the winner of the Tour of Flanders. 13 of those 24 editions at least one rider took a podium-spot in both races. In 2005 both races had the same top-3 with Boonen, Klier and Van Petegem. In the past 6 editions (2016,-2021, no E3 in 2020) around 50% of the top-10 was the same in E3 and Tour of Flanders.

Some facts on the similarities: (1998-2021):
– 9 times the same winner: Boonen (3x), Cancellara (2x), Terpstra, Van Petegem, Museeuw and Asgreen.
– 19 times since 1998 a rider finished podium in both races.
– 13 out of 24 seasons with a similarity on the podium.

Will we get a multiple winner of E3? If Van Avermaet, Asgreen, Sagan, Stybar, Thomas, Terpstra or Kwiatkowski wins on Friday, they will become the 8th multiple winner of E3.

Mister E3, Tom Boonen, won 5 editions and took 10 top-1o’s.

In de WielerOrakel Podcast verheugen wielergekken Tom en Thomas zich op de koers met wisselende gastoptredens van databrein Arjan Zoer (@ZoerCyclingStat) en statswonder Daniël (@StatsOnCycling).

Verplichte kost als je wielerpoule je lief is.

Note: Cycling Statistics (@statsoncycling) is a regular guest in the ‘WielerOrakel podcast (WielerOrakel podcast on Spotify)’, a Dutch podcast in which cycling-fans Tom and Thomas will rejoice in the next big races on the mcalendar. The podcast will feature guest-appearances of Arjan Zoer (ZoerCyclingStat) and us (StatsOnCycling). Today a look at previous performances in E3-Classic.

Published by statsoncycling

Cycling Statistics is an initiative by Daniël Herbers. From Maastricht (Netherlands) he talks and speculates about performances and developments in cycling with fellow cycling-addicts Jesper, Sjef and Sander. Cycling Statistics (@statsoncycling) aims to share and highlight unique performances and provide useful insights in male pro-cycling. Daniël is a runner and biker, lives with his wife and three children in Maastricht and is employed at Statistics Netherlands (Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: